Sharing is caring!

Regional Resource Leader: Carol DeMong

Coordinator, Hinton Adult Learning Society


Long, tall Carol has been a proud supporter of the CLN since August 1998. So much so that she joined the Regional Resource Leader (RRL) team in 2009. Now in her third year reign, she would encourage anyone who is interested in furthering their position with CALCs to join the RRL team – “it’s a lot of fun, great learning opportunities, extra paycheque, and a supporting comradrie”. Region two rocks!

Location and Area Served Council Contact Information
Serving the County of Barrhead,
including the communities of Barrhead,
Neerlandia, Manola, Fort Assiniboine,
Dunstable and Meadowview.
Barrhead & District Adult Learning Council
4923-50 St
Mail to: 5310 – 49 Street
Barrhead, AB T7N 1P3
Teena Pankonin, Coordinator
Telephone: 780-674-7535
Fax: 780-674-7671
Hours: M-Th 8:30-4:30
Drayton Valley
Serving Drayton Valley, the M.D. of
Brazeau, Breton and the surrounding area.
Drayton Valley Community Learning Centre
5056-50 Avenue
Mail to: Box 6321
Drayton Valley, AB T7A 1R8
Allie Spicer-Riess, Executive Director
Telephone: 780-542-3373
Fax: 780-542-4334
Hours: M-Th 11:30-4:30
(closed June 28-August 13, 2012)
Serving Edson, Robb, Marlboro,
Miller Lake and portions of the
County of Yellowhead.
Edson & District Community Learning Society
201, 111 – 54 Street
Edson, AB T7E 1T2
Vera Calvert, Executive Director
Genevieve Gliddon, Learning Centre Coordinator
Telephone: 780-723-6247
Fax: 780-723-6253
Hours: Mon-Thurs 10:00-4:30, Fri 9:00-12:00
Serving the communities of Evansburg,
Wildwood, Mackay, Niton Junction,
Carrot Creek, Peers and surrounding areas.
Lobstick Community Learning Society
4704 46 Avenue
Mail to: Box 191
Evansburg, AB T0E 0T0
Nancy Dinsdale, Coordinator
Telephone: 780-727-4077
Fax: 780-727-4070
Hours: M-Th 9-5 (closed July-Aug)
Serving Hinton and the
surrounding area.
Hinton Adult Learning Society
803 Switzer Drive
Hinton AB T7V 1V1
Carol DeMong, Coordinator
Deena Fuller, Literacy Coordinator
Telephone: 780-865-1686
Hours: M-T 9-2 (closed July-Aug)
Serving Jasper National Park,
including the town of Jasper.
Jasper Learning Centre
Mail to: Box 1509
Jasper, AB T0E 1E0
Ginette Marcoux-Frigon, Executive Director
Cynthia Bigrigg, Literacy Coordinator
Telephone: 780-852-4418
Fax: 780-852-4185
Hours: M-F 8:15-5:00
Whitecourt/Lac Ste. Anne
Serving the communities of Whitecourt,
Lac Ste. Anne County, portion of
Woodlands County, Mayerthorpe,
Sangudo, Onoway, Alberta Beach.
Whitecourt/Lac Ste. Anne Support for Adult Learning
4928 Langston Street
Mail to: Box 219
Sangudo, AB T0E 2A0
Trista Court, Coordinator
Jennifer Hillier, Literacy Coordinator
Telephone: 780-785-3411
Toll Free: 1-866-880-5722
Fax: 780-785-2359
Hours: M-F 8:30-4:30

Author: Patricia Leblanc