Sharing is caring!


Region 3 Regional Resource Leader: Brenda Adams

Executive Director, Tri-Community Adult Learning Association (TRICALA)

Brenda Adams has been the Executive Director of the Tri-Community Adult Learning Association since 2004. She became the Region 3 (Edmonton Region) Regional Resource Leader in 2006. Prior to her involvement in the Adult Learning Community, Brenda was involved in a lifelong learning journey which saw her working as a Directory Assistance Operator, garnering two Bachelor Degrees, Managing a Theatre, working in a public library, Marketing Manager of a theatre, and entering politics as a Research Analyst for the Legislative Assembly of the Northwest Territories Standing Committee on Legislation. During this time she also raised 3 wonderful children, 15 dogs, 4 hamsters, 12 fish, 2 mice, and ran her own acreage. She is now enjoying the world through the new eyes of her Granddaughter. Brenda continues to remain curious, lives to discover, and take a bite out of every opportunity. 

Location and Area Served Council Contact Information
Serving the County of Camrose,
including the communities of Camrose,
Bawlf, Rosalind, Hay Lakes, Edberg, Ferintosh,
New Norway, Roundhill, Armena, Kelsey
and Ohaton.
Camrose and Area Community Adult Learning Council
4707 – 56 Street
Camrose, AB T4V 2C4
Diane McLaren, Executive Director
Shannon Stolee, Literacy Coordinator
Telephone: 780-672-8754
Fax: 780-672-7621
Hours: Mon,Tues,Wed 8:00-4:30
Serving the Town of Devon,
Calmar, Winterburn, RR#5 Edmonton
and RR #1 Leduc.
Devon Community Adult Learning Council
1348 Oakland Crescent
Devon, AB T9G 2E5
Ruth Clarence, Coordinator
Telephone: 780-987-4786
Fax: 780-987-2245
Hours: Mon,Tues 8:00-5:00
Serving the city of Edmonton
Edmonton Community Adult Learning Association
St. Margaret Catholic School
7114 98 Street
Edmonton, AB T6E 3M1
Carol Aubee-Girard, CEO
Telephone: 780-415-5520
Fax: 780-447-3371
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:00-4:00
Fort McMurray
Serving Fort McMurray, Fort MacKay
and Conklin
The Community Network
8115 Franklin Avenue
Fort McMurray, AB T9H 2H7
Judith Slattery, Executive Director
Jeanette Wanchuk, Literacy Coordinator
Telephone: 780-792-5627
Fax: 780-791-4868
Hours: Mon-Thur 8:30-1:30 (closed July)
Serving Lamount County, including the
communities of Lamont, Bruderheim,
Mundare, St. Michael, Andrew and Chipman.
Lamont Community Adult Learning Council
Lamon County Building
5303 – 50 Avenue
Lamont, AB T0B 2R0
Debbie Holland, Coordinator
Telephone: 780-895-2874
Fax: 780-895-7404
Hours: Tues-Fri 9:00-4:00 (closed July-Aug)
Serving Sturgeon County, including
the communities of Morinville, Bon Accord,
Gibbons, Legal and Redwater.
Sturgeon Adult Learning Council
9613 – 100 Street
Morinville, AB T8R 1L9
Susan Evans, Coordinator
Chris Giles, Literacy Coordinator
Telephone: 780-939-4321 Ext 206
Fax: 780-939-2893
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:30-4:30
Serving Beaver County, including
the communities of Tofield, Ryley,
Holden, Bruce, Viking and Kinsella.
Beaver County Community Adult Learning Council
5120 – 50 Street
Mail to: Box 140
Ryley, AB T0B 4A0
Cheryl Lawson, Coordinator
Telephone: 780-663-3730
Fax: 780-663-3602
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:30-4:30 (closed July)
St. Albert
Serving the City of St. Albert
and surrounding district.
St. Albert & District Further Education Association
#211, 86 McKenney Avenue
St. Albert, AB T8N 2T7
Armella Gulley,  Executive Director
Shelley Passek, Literacy Coordinator
Telephone: 780-460-2207
Fax: 780-418-2008
Hours: Mon-Tues 9:00-4:00
Sherwood Park
Serving Sherwood Park,
Fort Saskatchewan and
the County of Strathcona.
Community Adult Learning and Literacy Society
Fort Saskatchewan and Strathcona County
#200-501 Festival Avenue
Sherwood Park
Mail to: c/o Family and Community Services
2001 Sherwood Drive
Sherwood Park, AB T8A 3W7
Deanna Bullock, Coordinator & Literacy Coordinator
(Strathcona County)
Wendy Rhodes, Literacy Coordinator
(Fort Saskatchewan)
Telephone: 780-464-8441
Fax: 780-449-1220
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:30-4:30
Stony Plain
Serving Parkland County, including
Spruce Grove, Stony Plain, Wabamun,
Spring Lake, Seba Beach, Entwhistle
and Tomahawk.
Tri-Community Adult Learning Association
4603-48 Street
Stony Plain, AB T7Z 1L1
Brenda Adams, Executive Director
Corrie Ryasen Erdman, Literacy Coordinator
Telephone: 780-963-7439
Fax: 780-963-9748
Hours: Mon-Thur 9:0-3:00, Fri 9:00-12:00
(closed June 18-Aug 16)
Serving the County of Thorhild,
including the communities of Thorhild,
Newbrook, Radway and Egremont.
Thorhild & District Community Adult Learning Council
801-1st Street
Mail to: Box 10
Thorhild, AB T0A 3J0
Carolyn Sedlowsky, Coordinator
Telephone: 780-398-3978
Fax: 780-398-3748
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:00-4:30
Serving the County of Westlock,
including the communities of Westlock,
Clyde, Jarvie, Fawcett and Flatbush.
Westlock & District Adult Learning Centre Society
#2 10007-100 Avenue
Westlock, AB T7P 2H5
JoAnna Wylie, Coordinator
Telephone: 780-349-5253
Fax: 780-349-3111
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:30-3:30
Wetaskiwin Community Learning Council for Wetaskiwin & Area
Box 6960
Wetaskiwin, AB T9A 2G5
Charleen Schnick, Executive Director
Telephone: 780-361-6241
Fax: 780-352-3486
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:30-4:30

Author: Patricia Leblanc