Sharing is caring!

Regional Resource Leader: Debbie Cardinal

Executive Director, Cold Lake Community Learning Centre

came to work with the Cold Lake Community Learning Centre in April of 2004 as the Office Administration person. By October of 2005,I was asked to take on the role of Executive Director. In this role, I have embraced Lifelong Learning and with the diversity inherent in this position, manage to learn something new every week. I was raised in the Northwest Territories and after finishing school, worked for Canadian National Telecommunications, the Territorial Government and Canadian Coast Guard. My husband, who also worked for Coast Guard, was transferred to Fort McMurray, so we moved. I worked for Indian Affairs and then the Athabasca Tribal Corporation. 15 years later, we moved to Cold Lake where we plan to retire.

Location and Area Served Council Contact Information
Serving the communities of Bonnyville,
Fort Kent, Ardmore, Eastbourne,
LaCorey, Iron River and Glendon.
Bonnyville Community Learning Council
Room 207 Provincial Building
50 Ave & 49 Street
Mail to: Box 8087
Bonnyville, AB T9N 2J4
Nicole Ferbey, Coordinator
Telephone: 780-826-2150
Fax: 780-826-1973
Hours: Mon-Thurs 9:00-3:00
(closed July, August 9:00-12:00)
Cold Lake
Serving the Cold Lake area, including the
communities of Cold Lake, Riverhurst,
Cherry Grove, Cold Lake First Nations
and Elizabeth Settlement.
Cold Lake Community Learning Centre
#206, Harbour View Community Centre
1301-8 Ave
Mail to: Box 8249
Cold Lake, AB T9M 1N2
Debbie Cardinal, Executive Director
Bernadette Hartman, Literacy Coordinator
Telephone: 780-639-3134
Fax: 780-639-3191
Hours: Mon-Fri 9:00-3:00
Elk Point
Serving the communities of Elk Point,
Heinsburg, Dewberry, Lindbergh,
Sputinow and Frog Lake.
Elk Point & District
Further Education Council
5202-51 St
Mail to: Box 728
Elk Point, AB T0A 1A0
Verona Lea Flanders, Coordinator
Telephone: 780-724-4101
Fax: 780-724-4740
Hours: Tues-Thur 10:00-3:00 (closed July-Aug)
Serving the County of Flagstaff,
including the communities of Killam,
Hardisty, Lougheed, Sedgewick
and Daysland.
Flagstaff Community Adult Learning Council
5005 – 50 Street
Mail to: Box 677
Killam, AB T0B 2L0
Val Rathjen, Executive Director
Nanette Jones, Literacy Coordinator
Telephone: 780-385-3712
Fax: 780-385-3528
Hours: Tues-Thur 9:00-5:00 (closed July-Aug 15)
Lac La Biche
Serving the communities of Lac La Biche,
Hylo and Plamondon.
Community Learning for Adult Students Society —
Lac La Biche and District
9531-94 Ave
Mail to: Box 417
Lac La Biche, AB T0A 2C0
Jennifer Gauthier, Coordinator
Colleen Pierce, Literacy Coordinator
Telephone: 780-623-5544
Fax: 1-866-201-5592
Hours: Mon, Tues, Thur 9:00-3:00 (closed mid-June to mid August)
Serving the city of Lloydminster SK/AB.
Lloydminster Learning Council Association
4419 – 52 Avenue
Mail to: Box 1651
Lloydminster, SK/AB S9V 1K6
Darlene MacDonald, Executive Director
Literacy Coordinator, Vacant
Telephone: 780-875-5763
Fax: 780-875-5793
Hours: Mon-Thur 9:00-5:00 (closed July 1-mid Aug)
Serving the communities of Provost,
Hayter, Cadogan and Czar.
Provost Adult Learning & Literacy
5419 – 44 Street
Mail to: Box 178
Provost, AB T0B 3S0
Sherry Gagne, Executive Director
Telephone: 780-753-2822
Fax: 780-753-2181
Hours: Mon-Fri 8:30-4:30 (closed July)
St. Paul
Serving the Town of St. Paul
and surrounding district
St. Paul Community Learning Association
5101 – 50 Street
Mail to: Box 465
St. Paul, AB T0A 3A0
Diana Tyler-Moon, Executive Director
Telephone: 780-645-4099
Fax: 780-645-4075
Hours: Mon-Fri 9:30-3:30 (closed June 30-Sept 1)
Smoky Lake
Serving the County of Smoky Lake,
Vilna and Wakatenau.
County of Smoky Lake Community Learning Council
4612 McDougall Drive
Mail to: Box 631
Smoky Lake, AB T0A 3C0
Christine Hominiuk, Coordinator
Telephone: 780-636-2024
Fax: 780-636-2024
Hours: Flexible
Two Hills
Serving the County of Two Hills,
including the communities of Two Hills,
Myrnam, Willingdon and Derwent.
Two Hills County Adult Learning Council
4818 50 Street
Mail to: Box 490
Two Hills, AB T0B 4K0
Christina Briggs, Coordinator
Telephone: 780-657-3358
Fax: 780-657-3504
Hours: Wed 9:00-2:00 (closed June 30-August 15)
Serving the County of Minburn including
Vegreville, Ranfurly, Lavoy, Innisfree,
Minburn and Mannville.
VegMin Learning Society
4923 – 50 Street
Mail to: Box 442
Vegreville, AB T9C 1R4
Holly Cependa, Executive Director
Telephone: 780-632-7920
Fax: 780-632-3224
Hours: Mon-Fri 9:00-4:00 (closed July)
Serving the County of Vermilion River,
including the communities of Vermilion,
Dewberry, Clandonald, Kitscoty,
Marwayne and Paradise Valley.
Vermilion River CLASS
5008-49 Ave Vermilion
Mail to: Box 3401
Vermilion, AB T9X 2B3
Chandra Blair, Executive Director
Telephone: 780-853-2000
Fax: 780-853-2080
Hours: Mon-Fri 10:00-4:00 (closed July-Aug)
Serving the County of Wainwright,
including the communities of
Wainwright, Chauvin, Edgerton
and Irma.
Wainwright & District Council for Adult Lifelong Learning
Suite 26, 810 – 14 Ave
Wainwright, AB T9W 1R2
Marie Isaman, Program Manager
Louella Komadina, Literacy Coordinator
Telephone: 780-842-3455
Fax: 780-842-3340
Hours: Mon-Fri 9:00-4:00 (closed June 15-Aug 15)

Author: Patricia Leblanc